CCNA Information

CCNA is the acronym for the Cisco Certified Network Associate certification from Cisco. In speech and in writing, this certification is properly referred to by the initials CCNA rather than the full name.


CCNA certification is a second-level Cisco Career certification. CCNA certification validates the ability to install, configure, operate, and troubleshoot medium-size routed and switched networks, including implementation and verification of connections to remote sites in a WAN[1]. To achieve CCNA certification, one must earn a passing score on Cisco exam #640-802, or combined passing scores on both the ICND1 640-822 and ICND2 640-816 exams. Passing the ICND1 grants you the Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT). Passing scores are set by using statistical analysis and are subject to change. At the completion of the exam, candidates receive a score report along with a score breakout by exam section and the passing score for the given exam. Cisco does not publish exam passing scores because exam questions and passing scores are subject to change without notice.


CCNA certifications (including specialties) are valid for three years. To re-certify you must pass one of the following:

The current CCNA, CCDA, or ICND2 exam                 
A current CCNA concentration exam (wireless, security, or voice)                 
Any professional-level exam (of the 642-xxx category)
Any Cisco Specialist exam (excluding Sales Specialist exams)                 
A current CCIE or CCDE written exam                 
Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) 


Resources & Tools for CCNA

Please provide us with the best resources we should list here!

Please provide us with the best resources we should list here! If you have a CISCO blog, send it to

CCNA Q&A - Ask a question, get an answer from a CISCO pro

CCNA Training - more details on training options

CCNA Exam Prep Questions - Practice questions (not the actual test questions, but similar material)